MAXQDA is a database program, which means that almost all changes are automatically saved (e.g. data imports, the creation and application of codes etc.) in the project files. That’s why MAXQDA does not have a “save” button. Once an action is performed, it’s immediately saved. It’s also why MAXQDA double-checks before deleting important project elements, such as codes.
Documents and memos that are currently being edited, for example when you are writing notes in a text document or transcribing audio/video files, are automatically saved every 5 minutes. This time interval can be adjusted in the project settings. Open maps in MAXMAps are automatically saved every minute and also when they are closed. Logbook entries are saved when you close the logbook window.
Caution when saving to external resources
If you are saving your MAXQDA project files in external resources like network drives, USB flash drives, or any cloud synchronized folder, please read the following FAQ: “Caution: Why you should not open MAXQDA projects from USB drives, network drives, or cloud services (Dropbox, iCloud, etc.)“.